April 3rd


Goals by Scott Woodcock, Ben Morgan, Shane Gammage and Aran McGuckin ensured that in their very first season SNS FC completed a League and Cup double as they beat North Walsham Under 19’s 4-0 at the FDC to take the Sunday Junior Cup. North Walsham, though can also be proud of their efforts in reaching the final and can still console themselves with the fact that they were winners of the Under 19 C Division.

The League Cup semi finals Riverside Rovers and DE FC were victorious and will meet at the FDC in the May 8th final. A Jordan Rocastle hat trick and strikes by Gavin Lemmon and Duane Eastall saw Riverside stay on course for the treble as they beat Acle Rangers 5-2. In the other semi final, Tim Carey gave Poringland Wanderers a first half lead against DE FC, but a penalty five minutes after the break from Mark Alibone and a Sam Apeh header twenty minutes from time saw the visitors go through. The final will be a repeat of the County Cup semi final, where DE FC will be hoping to gain revenge. Could be a cracker.

In League matters, Premier Division leaders were given a fright when they visited Farmhouse. Two up after five minutes through Elliot Lythgoe and Chris Hall and then 3-1 up after a Rhys Logan penalty,  the home side battled back to level the scores at 3-3 before Brendan Burke grabbed a late winner. Tommy Tucker, Shaun Taylor and Colm McGilway scored for Farmhouse whilst Schoolhouse now lead Riverside and Acle Rangers by five points, but Rovers have two games in hand and Rangers have played one game more. Bungay Town scored five without reply as they won at home to Dussindale Rovers, and there was a see saw game in the basement battle at Norman Wanderers where Bell Inn came from 3-1 down to lead 4-3 only for the home side to snatch a point in the last minute. Tom Jenkins, Nicky May, Ross Joy and Dale Buxton scored for the home side with Dale Simpson 2, Ian Babb and Richard Skelly replying.

Congratulations to Horsford United who became 1A champions with an emphatic 5-1 win at Bungay Town Res. Double for Mike Thirkettle and Scott Lindsay added to a Dan Read strike ensured that United return to the Premier division  for the first time in a number of years. Costessey West End gave their chances of reaching the runners up spot a major boost when the beat second placed Dilham Cross Keys 3-2 thanks to goals from Sam Groves, Ricky Ward and Michael Townsend. West End now need five points from their last three games to finish second.

Mad Moose are the new Champions of 2A. Jon Soderberg scored twice and there were goals for Mike Adcock and Seth Thomas as Moose won 4-0 at Mettingham to go above Mischief FC and lift the title. The Middle Green will finish in third position after scoring six without reply at home to Dynamo FC, whilst Brooke Res were 2-1 winners over DCS Rapid. In 2B, Trimingham Pilgrims warmed up for next weeks Intermediate Final buy thumping second placed Silver Fox 5-1 thanks to goals from Liam Page, Jack Nield, Jack Crane, Adam Buckenham and Joseph Culley so go into the final against Phoenix FC in good form. Cellar House completed their season with a good 5-3 win at Hickling Barn.

AFC Westlegate were presented with the latest Macron Sporting Award before their final game at home to Reedham FC, but it brought them no luck at all as the visitors ran out 7-1 winners. 3B is still heading for a tight finish. Leaders Hellesdon scored eight (Josh O’Donaughue 4, Connor Charlesworth 2, Mac Gee, Liam Robinson) as they won at Hethersett Ath Res, whilst Norwich Ceyms player Kane Wetteland scored five of his sides six goals as they won at home to Harleston Town U21’s. Byron Cooke added the other.Hellesdon, who have one game left, lead Ceyms by five points, but Ceyms have four games still to play. Blofield United won by the odd goal of five at home to Sprowston Athletic.

In the Benevolent Cup, Group A brought wins for Sprowston Wanderers, 6-0 (Haydn Davis 2, Charles Cullen 2, Danny Knight, Martyn Thomas) at home to Vale Longo and William Wanderers, 4-2 (Ryan Pye 2, Liam Brown, Craig Glenn) at Constable Crusaders. Group B saw Salhouse Rovers win 4-2 ( at Hellesdon FC and Marlborough were 4-1 (Adam Wilson, Spencer Medlar, Bradley Spooner, Harry Rose) winners at Revolution FC